Close this search box.


The elected leaders of towns, cities, counties, and sovereign Tribal Nations in Washington see the impacts of climate catastrophe up close. Whether it is helping constituents with heat stroke or farmers whose crops are failing, providing the disaster response that is increasingly necessary due to flooding, fire, smoke, and more, local elected leaders across Washington know that we must do more to confront the single largest contributor to greenhouse gas emissions: transportation.

On November 9, 2021, more than 100 local elected leaders from more than 60 jurisdictions in Washington sent an open letter to state legislators asking for action on a transportation package.


Tribal Nation Leaders
Chair W. Ron Allen, Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe

County Leaders
County Councilmember Temple Lentz, Clark County
County Councilmember Gary Medvigy, Clark County
County Commissioner Kate Dean, Chair of Jefferson County Board of County Commissioners and Chair, Jefferson Transit Authority Board
County Commissioner Heidi Eisenhour, Jefferson County
County Councilmember Rod Dembowski, King County
County Councilmember Jeanne Kohl-Welles, King County
County Councilmember Joe McDermott, King County
County Councilmember Dave Upthegrove, King County
County Councilmember Girmay Zahilay, King County
County Councilmember Marty Campbell, Pierce County
County Councilmember Jani Hitchen, Pierce County
County Councilmember Ryan Mello, Pierce County
County Councilmember Derek Young, Pierce County
County Commissioner Frank Wolfe, Pacific County
County Councilmember Megan Dunn, Snohomish County

Town and City Leaders
Mayor Janet Conklin, City of Bridgeport
Mayor Jay McGowan, City of Cle Elum
Mayor Bruce Tabb, City of Ellensburg
Mayor Hunter T. George, City of Fircrest
Mayor Kit Kuhn, City of Gig Harbor
Mayor David Baker, City of Kenmore
Mayor Penny Sweet, City of Kirkland
Mayor Nicola Smith, City of Lynnwood
Mayor Jennifer Gregerson, City of Mukilteo
Mayor Linda Newing, City of Newcastle
Mayor Angela Birney, City of Redmond
Mayor Will Hall, City of Shoreline
Mayor Alex Kovach, City of Soap Lake
Mayor Marylou Kriner, City of Tonasket
Mayor Allan Ekberg, City of Tukwila
Mayor Pete Kmet, City of Tumwater
Mayor John Hodkinson, City of Union Gap
Mayor Caroline Belleci, City of University Place
Mayor Marla Keethler, City of White Salmon
Mayor Pro Tem, Clark Gilman, City of Olympia
Mayor Pro Tem Josh Putnam, City of Pacific
Mayor Pro Tem Steve Worthington, City of University Place
Deputy Mayor Veronica Messing, City of Airway Heights
Deputy Mayor Jay Arnold, City of Kirkland
Deputy Mayor Wendy Weiker, City of Mercer Island
City Council President Victoria Hunt, City of Issaquah
City Council President Breean Beggs, City of Spokane
Councilmember Liz Ellis, City of Aberdeen
Councilmember Bruce McDougall, City of Anacortes
Councilmember Carolyn Moulton, City of Anacortes
Councilmember Ryan Walters, City of Anacortes
Councilmember Debora Nelson, City of Arlington
Councilmember Marilyn Oertle, City of Arlington
Councilmember Jan Schuette, City of Arlington
Councilmember Brenda Fantroy-Johnson, City of Bainbridge Island
Councilmember Leslie Schneider, City of Bainbridge Island
Councilmember Daniel Hammill, City of Bellingham
Councilmember Gene Knutson, City of Bellingham
Councilmember Michael Lilliquist, City of Bellingham
Councilmember Catherine Kiewit, City of Bingen
Councilmember Mason Thompson, City of Bothell
Councilmember Kevin Schilling, City of Burien
Councilmember Nancy Tosta, City of Burien
Councilmember Adair Hawkins, City of Carnation
Councilmember Teresa Overhauser, City of Cheney
Councilmember Michael Criner, Town of Concrete

Councilmember Luisa Bangs, City of Des Moines
Councilmember Nate Lowry, City of Edgewood
Councilmember Luke Distelhorst, City of Edmonds
Councilmember Adrienne Frayley-Monillas, City of Edmonds
Councilmember Nancy Lillquist, City of Ellensburg
Councilmember Mike Cooper, City of Elma
Councilmember-elect Paula Rhyne, City of Everett
Councilmember Paul Roberts, City of Everett
Councilmember Kate Bishop, City of Ferndale
Councilmember Ryan O’Larey, City of Ferndale
Councilmember Jeni Woock, City of Gig Harbor
Councilmember Barbara de Michele, City of Issaquah
Councilmember Angela Kugler, City of Kenmore
Councilmember Kelli Curtis, City of Kirkland
Councilmember Jon Pascal, City of Kirkland
Councilmember Malcolm Miller, City of Lacey
Councilmember Linda Farmer, City of Lakewood
Councilmember Sue Svendsen, City of Long Beach
Councimember Julieta Altamirano-Crosby, City of Lynnwood
Councilmember Alexander Heredia, City of Mattawa
Councilmember Dan Sander, City of Millwood
Councilmember Timothy Ceder, City of Milton
Councilmember Richard Brocksmith, City of Mount Vernon
Councilmember Bob Peterson, City of Ocean Shores
Councilmember Lisa Scott, City of Ocean Shores
Councilmember Dani Madrone, City of Olympia
Councilmember Mike French, City of Port Angeles
Councilmember Charlie McCaughan, City of Port Angeles
Councilmember Lindsey Schromen-Wawrin, City of Port Angeles, and Chair of the Clallam Transit Board of Directors
Councilmember Jeralee Anderson, City of Redmond
Councilmember Jessica Forsythe, City of Redmond
Councilmember Vanessa Kritzer, City of Redmond
Councilmember Valerie O’Halloran, City of Renton
Councilmember Ryan McIrvin, City of Renton
Councilmember Ed Prince, City of Renton
Councilmember Philip Lemley, City of Richland
Councilmember Judy Chipman, City of Ridgefield
Councilmember Jeff Adams, City of Roslyn
Councilmember Pam Stuart, City of Sammamish
Councilmember Takele Gobena, City of SeaTac
Councilmember Lisa Herbold, City of Seattle
Councilmember Debora Juarez, City of Seattle
Councilmember Alex Pedersen, City of Seattle
Councilmember Kshama Sawant, City of Seattle
Councilmember Rachel Anderson, City of Sequim
Councilmember Doris Fujioka McConnell, City of Shoreline
Councilmember Chris Roberts, City of Shoreline
Councilmember Betsy Robertson, City of Shoreline
Councilmember Gene Egan, City of Skykomish
Councilmember Linda Redmon, City of Snohomish
Councilmember Trace DeGarmo, City of Sprague
Councilmember Chris Beale, City of Tacoma
Councilmember Catherine Ushka, City of Tacoma
Councilmember Kristina Walker, City of Tacoma
Councilmember Naila Duval, City of Toppenish
Councilmember Cyntia Delostrinos Johnson, City of Tukwila
Councilmember Zak Idan, City of Tukwila
Councilmember Jack Galloway, City of Union Gap
Councilmember Kent Keel, City of University Place, Chair of Sound Transit Board, President of the Association of Washington Cities
Councilmember Denise McCluskey, City of University Place
Councilmember Ty Stober, City of Vancouver
Councilmember Ben Nelson, City of Winthrop
Councilmember Susan Boundy-Sanders, City of Woodinville
Councilmember Philip Mark, City of Woodinville
Councilmember Eliana Macias, City of Yakima
Councilmember Molly Carmody, City of Yelm